Condor Sevens - National Secondary Schools Rugby Sevens Finals

The National Secondary Schools Rugby Sevens Finals Competition has been running for over 30 years and has grown from 16 teams in 2013 to 112 teams in 2020. Traditionally held in Auckland although has been held throughout NZ, the tournament is held over four days across four divisions (Open and U15, boys and girls). The U15 tournament is invitational and the Opens is a qualification based to ensure national-wide representation. The Opens event is broadcast live on Sky Sport over two days and 291 games streamed live over the four days.  The Condors was established in 1986.

The annual rugby sevens tournament for New Zealand boy’s and girls secondary schools teams. The CONDOR National Secondary Schools Sevens sees the best teams in the country compete over two days for the respective boy’s and girl’s championship titles. The journey to the CONDOR Sevens begins as early as March each year when the Secondary Schools Sevens Qualification Series kick-off. Top nine boy's and top seven girl's teams from the Blues, 10 boy's and 8 girl's from the Chiefs region, 8 boy's and 5 girl's from the Hurricanes Region make up the teams from the North Island. The South Island will see the top two boy's and top two girl's from the Highlanders region and from the Crusaders Qualification Tournament, 3 boy's and 2 girl's teams. There are 17 Regional Qualification Tournaments which makes the pathway to the Condors a truely national tournament and highly sought after Secondary Schools NZ Title.